Beloved Scottish band, The Yummy Fur, have announced details of the release of a 14-track ‘best of’ album, Piggy Wings, coming out on Glasgow’s Rock Action Records this Autumn.

We’re thrilled to be hosting, along with Rock Action, an album launch instore for the release of Piggy Wings on the 18th of October. Tickets are available from our website, along with a bundle that includes the album, signed and with a bonus disc exclusive to Monorail featuring 11 tracks left off the official album, entitled Psychic Canada Tapes.

Singer / guitarist, John McKeown, fronted the band from their 1992 inception (scores of cartoon melodies under a minute long delivered at high velocity) until their demise in 1999 (after morphing into a more muscular beast armed with eerie Eno-esque synths and longer, more hypnotic grooves). Along the way they recorded three albums: Night Club (1996), Male Shadow at Three O’Clock (1998) and Sexy World (1999). Firm favourites of John Peel, they recorded two sessions for the much revered DJ and regularly featured on his show.